Film grain study #1

So here goes; my venture into big boy photography.  I just bought a medium format camera.  For those of you who have no idea or really don’t care here is a quick and dirty breakdown.  My Nikon D5100 has 16 mega pixels and is, for all intents and purposes, pretty cool.  However, it records, at best, only 1/6 the  data this old film camera can record.  Yeah it’s pretty awesome.  With that said, I’ve never shot it.  I’ve never even touched it.  This post is actually about the film grain that I hope to get from shooting a professional’s camera. I have taken a clean digital image and shopped in film grain to exude an emotion into my image.  After all, the goal of a photo is to portray not only a scene, but to emit some sort of emotion.  So here it is.  Layers of grain on my whiskey glass.

Film grain shopped over my glass to mimic real film.
Film grain shopped over my glass to mimic real film.
Leave a Reply

