Transition

Transition: a process or period of change from one state or condition to another.  That’s where I am.  An ice cube on the counter becomes water fairly quickly.  It’s hard to pinpoint the beginning of this transition yet one could easily argue it began the moment you touched the ice cube.  And while it is simple to note the end of the ice cubes journey, the duration is a guessing game.  When will my transition phase end and or pass?  Like the ice cube, it is obvious to me that I am in transition, however the origin has long since passed and is not identifiable.  I know I will be different in the end, yet unlike the ice cube and eventual puddle, I’m not sure what I’ll look like.

My starting position was a photographer shooting anything and everything he found attractive, intriguing, or properly placed.  I was an amateur at best and relished in the occasional satisfaction of a pure image.  The purpose of photographing was documentation without any real cause.  My camera and all it’s mechanics and sounds and functions were mere novelty.  I was a toddler with a toy, careless and happy, yet clueless as to what might be.  I was strictly in the moment.  Intent, process, and method were all abstract and fell unseen victims to entertainment.

Amateur to pro is not my goal nor destination, and while I would never shy away from such a setting, I know the realities and fully accept them.  More so, I feel my transition is in the enlightenment realm. I study, more accurately, I crave to study. I view famous works over and over. I research artist intent and process.  I seek advise from peers and professors.  I step back, reflect, and adjust.  A picture is not created the 1/2000 of a second shutter flash anymore.  Now the set up, thought process, and execution can consume hours and days.  I view my work as on going projects.  I extract moods and feelings and have a desire to embed them in my work.

Currently I am working on three projects which I am quite passionate about.  If you have followed me and or this blog at all you will note that “film” has become a frequent topic.  Film has taken my perspective on photography to a new level.  And while I am not new to this method of photography I now feel different when using it.  Film makes me think and slow down and be ever so deliberate.  I plan to explore this medium extensively and am so grateful to be living in a location that has such amazing resources such as the Bakery Photo Collective.

My second and third projects take on the nature of  correspondence in our digital age.  I have great friends.  Creative friends.  Friends who share visions and are passionate.  First is Mark Kinsley.  Among many other things Mark is writer.  Recently we collaborated on a couple blog posts to which I created a photo and Mark in turn wrote what he felt from viewing it, synthesizing his own expression in his creative manner.  However, through more investigation of our project, we’ve found this to be original and quite thought provoking.  How does one stay creatively connected to a friend over distance.  This project does not involve a critique session or even advise it simply gives us both a reflective and thoughtful process or avenue.  Neither the writing nor the photo is an accompaniment at it’s origin, yet the final project is cohesive and wonderfully collaborative.

Lastly is Ashley Hallmark. Among many other things Ashley is a photographer.  She is creative beyond belief and has a genuine innocence and peace that is undoubtedly on display in every one of her images.  Together we are working on a blog spot that will be much like a side by side comparison of what one envisions when given a certain prompt.  However, my work with Ashley is much more than a comparison study.  She is a solid friend who gives regular feedback.  She doesn’t mind speaking technique and is knowledgeable at every point in the photographing process.  There is a common trust between us and a natural desire to see the other succeed.

So where this transition takes me is unclear.  In the end, my hope is that my work will be art.

Transition

3 thoughts on “Transition

  1. You are incredibly kind! I am so flattered! And I think the same of you. Truly. I value your artistic vision, your feedback, and the challenges we throw at one another to keep growing as artists. Your work is inspiring and I love, love, love the photo for this post. The composition is stellar, the focus, and the colors are seamless. This is a print I’d like to have. Well done.

Leave a Reply

